Resume Experimentation

Last night I had a serious conversation with my best friend about how my job hunting is going, and all the games that people play (sometimes for their amusement) while danging the hope of a new job in front of you. The conversation lead me to consider conducting an experiment on with my resume; mostly because of these questions:

  1. Is it true any more that having a job helps you find a new job?
  2. Is a one-page resume going to viewed and responded to more than a two-page resume?
  3. Does your title affect how people read your resume?

So I made these changes to my current resume:

  1. I removed my Master’s degree and left only my Bachelor’s
  2. I reduced my resume to one-page
  3. I put an end date on my current employment
  4. I changed my title from Office Manager to Executive Assistant (this is because there are not a lot of Office Manager positions in Vancouver, Washington but there are a lot of Administrative Assistant positions).
  5. Removed all training – perhaps being a know-it-all has been harming my chances.

I’m going to use this “downgraded” resume until the end of March and see what results I get. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment